Kashmir, a 12-arm Chakrasamvara

9th-10th century, Kashmir, meditational deity Chakrasamvara, brass, at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art.

9th-10th century, Kashmir, Chakrasamvara, brass, at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art.

This meditational deity, also known as Heruka (a semi-wrathful guardian of the faith) is represented in his 12-arm form. He has four heads, each with three eyes and four fangs, 2 legs, and 12 hands. Ten of them are holding various attributes such as a drum, knife, skull cup, axe, thunderbolt, bell, chopper, trident, lasso, sword, the other two hold the skin of an elephant stretched behind him like a cloak. He stands on two deities (Bhairava and Kalaratri), and his wearing a skull crown, a garland of 50 freshly severed heads, a tiger skin loincloth, and bone jewellery. For more information on the significance of each attribute see the Himalayan Art Resources website (link in left-hand column of this page) and <www.khandro.net>, amongst others.

The facial features of the characters and the lobed abdomen of Chakrasamvara are typical of Kashmiri works, along with the use of brass. The lotus base over a rocky formation supported by a plinth is quite singular.


2 thoughts on “Kashmir, a 12-arm Chakrasamvara

    • Yes, there is something very harmonious about this particular sculpture so full of symbols. I think it is partly to do with the shape of the elephant hide behind him and partly with the fact that the whole composition is totally asymmetrical yet perfectly balanced.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s